water starts 680x200.jpg

Toledo Resolution to Ban Factory "Farms"

Click link to read it

When LEA began in March 2016 our sole concern was the health of Lake Erie.

 

Since then we’ve learned how much factory "farms" contribute to toxic algal blooms and we believe we can’t keep adding to the problem.     

 

Feces, urine, antibiotic-resistant bacteria, viruses and wastewater from 25 million pigs, cows and poultry are dumped, untreated, on fields that drain into our lake.

Whatever CAFO operators don’t pay for we have to, with higher bills to detoxify our water, with an impaired economy and with our very health.

 

And the thing is, we don't need factory "farms!"  When we went to the store just 20 years ago, we didn't wait in line for eggs, milk coolers weren't empty and meat counters had plenty of hamburgers and pork chops.  Then, with big subsidies and lax regulation, factory "farms" drove traditional farm families off the land. 

25 million animals on over 800 factory "farms" in our watershed excrete more lake-poisoning Phosphorus than the combined human populations of Ohio, Indiana, Chicago and Atlanta!  Just one dairy factory "farm" in Williams County equals the Phosphorus output of 19 Cities of Maumee.

farms yes cafos no sign.jpg
LEA toilet billboard vertical 400x840.png
cafo pigs gestation cages.jpg
chicken 3.jpg

Tell City Council to support the resolution to ban factory "farms"

A pig factory "farm"
A chicken factory "farm"

Find your council representative here. Call 419-245-1050, E-mail, and tag them on social media. 

John Hobbs III

District 1

john.hobbs@toledo.oh.gov

Matt Cherry, Council President

District 2

matt.cherry@toledo.oh.gov

 

Theresa Gadus

District 3

theresa.gadus@toledo.oh.gov

 

Vanice S. Williams

District 4

vanice.williams@toledo.oh.gov

 

Sam Melden

District 5

sam.melden@toledo.oh.gov

 

Theresa Morris

District 6

theresa.morris@toledo.oh.gov

Dr. Cecelia Adams

At-Large

cecelia.adams@toledo.oh.gov

 

Nick Komives

At-Large

nick.komives@toledo.oh.gov

 

Rob Ludeman

At-Large

rob.ludeman@toledo.oh.gov

 

Cerssandra McPherson

At-Large

cerssandra.mcpherson@toledo.oh.gov

 

Katie Moline

At-Large

katie.moline@toledo.oh.gov

 

Dr. Tiffany M. Preston Whitman

At-Large

tiffany.whitman@toledo.oh.gov